4 - Labitsky's path and "The afternoon path"
On the cusp of the 18th and
19th Centuries the popular places for walking,
along with the Vřídlo Geyser area and the Mill
Colonnade, included the Tepla River Valley,
south of Lázně VI. Here is the Post House,
built in 1791, which became famous as a center
of spa cultural life. In the mountain spurs that
overlook this picturesque setting a pathway was
opened up in 1807 and won praise for its shady
routes protected by the mountain from the summer
heat. It is known today as Labitsky's Pathway.
It begins at the Gallery of Arts, gradually
rising to the Findlater path and Poet's Rock.
The Afternoon Walk pathway starts just off the
road leading to the suburb of Březová, leading
further into the hills and valleys and finally
coming out at the Capek summerhouse. From there
one can return to the town by bus along the Březová
road or via Friendship Path.