Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 

Important Places

Contemporary architectonic appearance of the town is determined especially by buildings from the last third of 19th century with elements of Classicism and Secession Styles. In that time, metropolitan style buildings were erected - proud bathhouses and hotels, the Town Theatre, the savings bank, the post office, churches.

There are lookout towers, pavilions, and gazebos built in spa woods in the town surroundings. Architectural nature of this historical period is most strongly influenced by a pair of architects, Fellner and Helmer. Contemporary architecture is represented by the building of Thermal Sanatorium and The Hot Spring Colonnade.

The buildings and sights representing Carlsbad include:

Churches and Chapels
Lookouts and Restaurants
Monuments and Memorial Plaques
City Theatre
Japanese Garden
Other Interesting Buildings
Churchles and Chapels

Name Year, Architect Adress Description
     
St. Mary Magdalene's Church (1732-36, by K. I. Dienzenhofer) Kostelní Square The interior includes two Gothic Madonnas, Baroque altar sculptures (by J. Eberl), altarpiece (by E. Dollhopf), and side altarpiece of St. Mary Magdalene (by J. Kramolín).
St. Peter and Paul's Orthodox Church (1893-97, by architect G. Wiedermann) Krále Jiřího Avenue The five-dome edifice was built with financial help of Russian aristocracy according to the design of Byzantine-Russian church in Ostankino near Moscow. The relief by sculptor M. Hiller represents Russian Tsar Peter I during construction of The Peacock House in 1711.
St. Andrew's Cemetery Church (16th century) Ondřejská Street The oldest Carlsbad church, originally in Gothic Style. Adjacent cemetery was cancelled in 1911, and it was changed to Mozart Park.
St. Lucas's Anglican Church (1877, by Dr. Mothes) It was built in New Gothic Style with support from English bath guests.
St. Peter and Paul's Church - Chorus of Dr. Pavel Farský (1856, by architect J. Zeissig) 4 Mariánskolázeňská Street. St. Peter's evangelic church till 1946. New Romanesque Style. In 1864, a tower was added and construction of neighbouring Rectory was commenced.
St. Urban's Church (13th century) Rybáře Street The oldest preserved object of the town. It was built probably in the second half of 13th century during the colonisation.
St. Anna's Church (1739-48, by architect V. Schmidt) Sedlec It was built in village, which history reaches perhaps even 11th century. Baroque altar, antique sculpture of St. Anna with Mary and the Child.
St. Linhart's Romanesque Chapel (13th century) a ruin near forest coffee house Linhart The oldest Carlsbad building, first mentioned in 1246.
Schwarz's Chapel P. Velikého Avenue A chapel from late Baroque, which often appears in Goethe's drawings.
Chapel of Mary the Virgin (1700) Mariánská Street Its construction was initiated by Count Sternberg. In 1879, it was rebuilt in New Gothic Style, renovated in 1993.
St. Lawrence's Chapel (18th century) Libušina Street
St. Linhart's Chapel (1838) Sova Path Its construction was initiated by Lady W. Russel, in 1880s, it was rebuilt in New Gothic Style.
Ecce Homo Chapel (1900) under the Diana lookout tower
Ecce Homo Chapel (1897, adapted in 1991) near Jan Palach School

 

Lookouts

Name

Altitude Location

Description

Diana

(547 m above sea level) at The Friendship Heights (Výšina přátelství)

35 meters high lookout tower from 1914. Its original name was The Lookout of Friendship; gradually the name Diana became more common. It is accessible also by a cable railway from Grandhotel Pupp, which is 452 meters long and which operates since 5th August 1912, the era of the greatest bloom of the baths. The project was designed by a well-known Swiss expert in the field of cable railways, H. H. Peter from Zurich.

Goethe's Lookout - Stephaniewarte

on the Hill of Eternal Life (vrch Věčného života)

It was built after design of Fellner and Helmer in 1889. The New Gothic Style building houses restaurant and lookout with a view of Krušné hory, Slavkov Forest and Doupov Hills. Goethe favoured the place for his mineralogical and botanical walks.

Stag Jump

A little rock with metal statue of chamois from 1851 by Berlin sculptor August Kiss. Baron Lützov let the statue to be installed there, because he wanted to ridicule invented legend about discovery of The Hot Spring; after the legend, the place is called "Under the Stag Jump". The original statue was destroyed by vandals in 1984; current replica was made from bronze by Carlsbad sculptor Jan Kotek in 1986. Near the place, a restaurant with the same name is situated.

Charles IV's Lookout

(509 metres above sea level), above Grandhotel Pupp

A New Gothic Style lookout tower from 1877.

Doubská Mountain - Aberg

(609 metres above sea level)

22 metres high lookout provides panoramic view of spa woods. Hotel and restaurant.

Three Crosses

(554 m above sea level)

Three large wooden crosses are a parable of the Biblical Golgotha; they were erected about the year 1640 as an expression of victorious re-catholicisation of the town and region, which professed Lutheran religion for previous 100 years. The hill is fabulous for its numerous eerie tales on will-o'-the-wisps and on murder of three brothers. There used to be a restaurant and unique gazebo Camera Obscura, in which dark interior, landscape images were projected on the wall, at Three Crosses. The gazebo was built anew in 1997.

Dorothea's Gazebo

(1791), next to The Art Gallery

Count Christian Clam-Gallas ordered the construction of the Classicism Style Gazebo for his rendezvous. Even Casanova visited the Gazebo!

The Postal Court

A Classicism Style building was constructed by Josef Korb, Carlsbad Postmaster, in 1791 to serve as a station for swapping horses for postal horse teams. Later it became an important social centre. On July 20th, 1894, it was the first place on European continent, where Dvořák's New World Symphony could have been heard. The object includes The Labitzký Hall from 1791 and The Prussian Hall from 1818, and also popular restaurant, and dancing and garden pavilion.

St. Linhart

Forest coffee-house and restaurant. T. G. Masaryk's favourite place of walk. In its surroundings, remnants of buildings of the original Obora village can be found, which was located in the territory of royal hunting ground of the Loket Castle. St. Linhart's Church was consecrated there in 1246. Newly founded town Wary near hot spring attracted inhabitants of Obora, who gradually resettled to the hot springs.

Little Versailles

Křižíkova Street

Former brickworks were rebuilt to guest hall with a garden gazebo at the end of 18th century and it is one of the oldest Carlsbad inns. In 1820, J. W. Goethe, German poet, attended burgess wedding there. In autumn 1996, close replica of the original inn was opened again.

 

Monuments and Memorial Plaques

Monuments
Busts
Memorial Plaques
Relieves

  

Monuments

Name Year, Author Location Description
     
Trinity Column (1716, by J. O. Wenda) Tržiště Baroque monument built as thanksgiving for the fact the town did not suffered by pestilence in 1713.
Charles IV by unknown author 7 I. P. Pavlova originally exposed in town hall at Tržiště in 1793 - to honour the founder of the bath resort
Charles IV by J. Max - 1858 The Jean de Carro Park on 500th anniversary of founding of Carlsbad by Charles IV
Charles IV by O. Švec - 1953 Mariánskolázeňská Street on 575th anniversary of the death of Charles IV, the founder of the town
Ludwig van Beethoven by H. Uher - September 9th, 1929 Slovenská Street to honour Beethoven's visit and concert in Carlsbad
Bedřich Smetana by J. Wagner - 1949 Slovenská Street to honour the Czech music tradition in Carlsbad
Friedrich Schiller by Max Hiller The Goethe Path behind The Art Gallery born in Carlsbad - 1909
Antonín Dvořák by K. Kuneš - 1974 The Dvořák Park to honour Dvořák's tradition in Carlsbad
Sv. Bernard z Clairvaux by unknown author The Skalník Park 1706, in 1784 relocated to its contemporary place
Hygia by V. Pilc Museum on Nová Louka originally exposed on March 5th, 1879 at The Hot Spring Colonnade - to honour the bath industry
St. John of Nepomuk by unknown author Osvobození Embankment originally on The Jánský Bridge 1729 - in connection with canonisation of the saint
St. John of Nepomuk by unknown author - 1696 Kostelní Square contemporary location from 1746 - to honour the memory of the saint
Mary the Virgin of Immaculate Conception by unknown author - 1704 Hřbitovní Street near former Scaffold Hill
Mary the Virgin by unknown author Sedlec the statuette on the column is severely damaged
Prince Karel Schwarzenberg by unknown author - 1818, 1991 The Dvořák Path above the open air cinema
Cambridge Column 1834 The Skalník Park over The Mill Colonnade
Hungarian Obelisk 1883 U Imperiálu
Karl Marx by 1988 – K. Kuneš Petra Velikého Street to honour three visits of K. Marx in the years 1874 - 1876

 
Busts

Name Year, Author Location
Tsar Peter the Great by T. Seidan - 1877 Above the Stag Jump
Johann Wolfgang Goethe by A. Dondorf - 1883 The Goethe Path
Adam Mickiewicz by T. Barcz - 1898 In front of the Richmond sanatorium
Milan Mixa, M.D. 1959 Lázeňská Street 24/11
Josef Zítek, Architect by M. Pangrác - 1988 The Mill Colonnade
Gallus Hochberger, M.D. by T. Seidan - 1890 In the yard of Military Bath Institute
Jean de Carro, M.D. by T. Seidan Staircase in the Bath I
Bedřich Smetana Ceremonial hall of Grandhotel Pupp
Antonín Dvořák by G. Kuchařová and at reception desk of the Dvořák Hotel Ceremonial hall of Grandhotel Pupp and Antonín Dvořák's Concert Hall in the Bath III
Tomáš Garrique Masaryk by 1995 – V. Lokvenc Entrance of the Main Post Office building

 
Memorial Plaques

There are 62 memorial plaques in Carlsbad.

Most of them (37) remind of visits or treatment of famous guests, such as: Atatürk, Beethoven, Brahms, Čapek brothers, Dvořák, Findlater, Goethe, Gogol, Chopin, Janáček, Jungmann, Kisch, Masaryk, Mickiewicz, Pavlov, Peter the Great, Tolstoj, Turgeněv, Arany, Gagarin, Marx, Remek - Gubarjev

Some plaques (11) express thanks to Carlsbad springs for healing or recovery from disease, others (4) are celebratory, or remind of important deceased personalities of Carlsbad: Labický, Jean de Carro, Bureš, M.D., Nejdl

There are also plaques reminding of the events exceptional for the town (e.g. continental premiere of Dvořák's New World Symphony in The Postal Court, construction of Military Bath Institute).

 
Relieves

Name Year, Author Location
Lion's Head

by August Kiss - 1859

Slovenská Street
Peter the Great

by Max Hiller - 1912

1039/2B Sadová Street - below orthodox temple
Discovery of the Springs by Charles IV

by sculptor Zörkler

The Market Colonnade
Relieves from Carlsbad History

by Václav Lokvenc

The Mill Colonnade

 

City Theatre

The first theatre building of Carlsbad was built in 1717. It was wooden, stood in a tree-lined avenue behind Grandhotel Pupp and it collapsed during a performance in 1787. Already in that year, on 15th July 1787, the corner stone of the second theatre building was laid. The construction was financed from the yields of thermal salt sale and it stood in place of the present-day building. The construction of the second Carlsbad theatre was initiated mostly by Dr. David Becher, the founder of modern Carlsbad bath treatment. Contemporary look of the Theatre results from reconstruction, or it can be said it is the third building of Carlsbad Theatre. It was erected according to designs by Vienna architects Ferdinand Fellner and Herman Helmer in the years 1884 -1886. The opening performance was Mozart's opera La Noche di Figaro on May 15th, 1886. The interior is dominated by one of the jewels of the Carlsbad Theatre, a curtain by Gustav Klimt, the most important representative of Vienna Secession. In the years 1993 - 1999, general reconstruction of the Carlsbad Town Theatre took place with financial support of European fund PHARE. It was carried out according to the original designs by the Vienna architects, and the Theatre is one of the Carlsbad architectonic jewels. Ceremonial re-opening took place in June 24th - 26th, 1999, a part of which was a concert of Smetana's symphony My Country attended by many ambassadors and ministers of foreign affairs and also the "traditional" Mozart's opera La Noche di Figaro. Václav Havel, the President of the Czech Republic, was awarded a commemorative medal number 1, issued on the occasion of the renewed Town Theatre opening.

 

Japanese Garden

A Japanese woman living in Munich, Germany - Mrs. Masumi Schmidt-Muraki - decided to create a unique European curiosity in Karlovy Vary - a Japanese rock garden. Famous Japanese garden architect Kanji Nomura created the design. The garden was designed as a place for meditation, and creates an illusion of water but water is not used in the design. The circular formation with its interior curve symbolizing the principles of jin and jang. The stones were arranged in such a way as to harmonize the mind and health.

The garden was placed at the end of the so-called "geyser line" on which all the springs are placed. The white gravel symbolizes the seas dividing the east and west halves of the globe. From the east bank it runs into the sea towards the western stone in the shape of a boat. In the middle of the sea there is a smaller stone which symbolizes Mrs. Hana Balz of Japan, who married German doctor Ervin Balz in the last century. When she came to Europe she helped to bring together Japanese and European cultures. The stone also can symbolize the Good, which wants to unite west and east or for example, a mythical turtle or man seeking paradise in the sea or labyrinth of the world. This multipurpose stone must have sufficient light. The light supplies the lantern which is a metaphor for "Buddha" - because Buddha is light. In a lantern in a Japanese garden, you never burn candles as is the custom in Europe, but the lantern itself is the light. Rock is not non-living matter, it has a soul and emits energy.

Nine Japanese gardeners completed the garden on 16.6.1998 and you can find it in the area adjacent to Richmond Sanatorium in Karlovy Vary.
 

 
1 - Symbol of YIN and YANG
2 - Stones Emanating Positive Energy 3 - Hana Bälz, The Good, Mythical Turtle
4 - Europe, Isle of Man
5 - Lantern = Buddha, Guide of the Correct Path of Life
6 - Asia, Japan, Isle of Woman
7 - Ship Connecting the East and the West
8 - Sea

 

 

 

Other Buildings of Interest

Name

Year, Author

Location

Description

     
The Castle Tower on the Castle Hill (Zámecký vrch) The original royal castle built about the year 1358 burnt down in 1604. In 1608, a tower was erected in the same place, which was gradually rebuilt to its contemporary appearance. In past, troubadours announced arrival of important guests from the tower.
Grandhotel Pupp 2 Mírové Square In 1701, The Saxon Hall was built and in 1728, The Czech Hall was added, which became the most favourite social centre of aristocracy in Carlsbad. In 1775, Johann Georg Pupp, confectioner, married to Carlsbad and bought The Czech Hall in 1786 and during several generations, the Pupp family changed the Hall to grand hotel. The present-day New Baroque Style appearance of the hotel originates in the years 1905 - 1907.
The Main Post Office (1900 - 1904, by Architect Friedrich Setz), 1 T.G.M. The building forms an important boundary between the business and the bath part of Carlsbad. The Post Office was built in 1903 according to design by architect Friedrich Setz. It was one of the state-of-the-art postal facilities of Austria-Hungary of its time. There are four allegoric sculptures representing Telegraph, Railroad Transport, Shipping Transport and Mailing located above pilasters in the level of third floor. The building is one of registered national landmarks.
The Felix Zawojski House (1897-1900, by K. Haybäck) 9 Tržiště The most beautiful Secession house in Carlsbad.
The Three Moors House Stará Louka 2 Memorable house of Goethe (9 stays of the poet). Rebuilt from Rococo house by architect F. Ohmann in 1910.
The Czech Savings Bank (1906, by Architect O. Stainl) Divadelní Square. Secession Style functional building.
The Quissisana House (A bathhouse from the years 1888 - 92) 3 Mariánskolázeňská Street Formerly owned by Karel Pupp. Today apartments.
Becher's Villa (1912, by Architect Karel Heller), 9 Krále Jiřího Street Mansion of Becher family, now under reconstruction.
Lützow's Villa (1854) The Jean de Carro Path The only Empire Style villa in Carlsbad.
The Telegraph (Approximately from 1912), 26 Zámecký vrch A private house full of old-time serenity and flowers.
The Art Gallery (1912, by Architect Seitz) 6 The Goethe Path Originally built as display building of the Cheb Chamber of Trade and Commerce. Since 1953 there is solely the art gallery. Two wings with interesting middle segmentation.
The Town Market Hall (1912-13, by Architect F. Drobny), 1 Horova Street A strictly functional building with three-aisled main hall.
The Regional Court of Justice (1907, by Architect Förster) 17 Moskevská Street