Three colonnades - The Hot Spring, The Market, and The Mill Colonnade (Vřídelní, Tržní, and Mlýnská kolonáda) - and also other premises, such as The Park Spring Pavilion (Pavilon Sadového pramene), are in care of ACRaC. The Park Colonnade (Sadová kolonáda) is in care of Department of Bath Industry, Tourism, Culture and Education. The Castle Colonnade (Zámecká) is rented to a joint-stock company. The Colonnades are built for the purposes of quiet walking associated with drinking of thermal water, and are protected against unfavourable weather. They are the centres of meetings of people walking in the fresh air, which was and is a therapy emphasised by many bath doctors.
All the buildings, which have
grown over the hot springs, are to be considered as time constricted. They are
located in place of extreme tension, caused by high concentration of water
vapours, high temperature and presence of carbon dioxide, where any surface
|The Mill Colonnade (1871 - 1881, by Architect Josef Zítek) - New Renaissance bath architecture. The part near The Rock Spring (Skalní pramen) was finished in 1892. Baluster railing is decorated by the sculptures of twelve months.|
|The Park Colonnade (1880 - 1881, by Architects Fellner and Helmer) - Preserved part of a building complex in The Dvořák Park (Dvořákovy sady), which was dominated by Blanenský Pavilion - concert hall and restaurant.|
|The Market Colonnade (1883, by Architects Fellner and Helmer, and Master Carpenter Österreicher from Vienna) - It was built in the place of the first town hall destroyed in 1875. Zörkler's relief - a legend about discovery of the hot springs - is placed above The Spring of Charles IV|
|The Castle Colonnade (1911 - 1913, by Architect F. Ohman) - This monument of the Secession Style is in the state of disrepair and therefore inaccessible.|
|The Hot Spring Colonnade (1975, by Architect J. Otruba) - The main Carlsbad spring, The Hot Spring (Vřídlo, Sprudel) geysers up to 12 meters high. The original cast-iron colonnade by the Fellner and Helmer company (1879) was disassembled at the beginning of the Second World War.|
The Mill Colonnade, called also Zítek's Colonnade, is the largest Carlsbad colonnade and one of the symbols of the town.
|It was built
according to a project by Josef Zítek, an architect, whose bust is
placed near The Mill Spring, in the years 1871 - 1881.
The New Renaissance Style building is 132 meters long and 13 meters wide.
It covers five springs - The Mill Spring, The Rock Spring, The Libuše's, The Count Wenceslas', and The Water Nymph's Springs (in Czech Mlýnský, Skalní, Libušin, Knížete Václava and Rusalčin).
has 124 columns; the colonnade orchestra podium is decorated by
allegoric relieves by a Carlsbad sculptor, Václav Lokvenc.
Twelve allegoric sculptures representing months of the year stand on the baluster railing of the roof terrace.
The Park Colonnade was built from cast-iron prefabricated elements in 1881. It was a part of concert hall and park restaurant - called The Blanenský Pavilion, which was designed by Vienna architects Fellner and Helmer.
The Colonnade functioned as a promenade connecting The Park Spring springing in the basement of Military Balneal Institute, with the concert hall.
Nowadays, The Park Colonnade has shape of rectangle, on which ends there are hexagonal pavilions crowned by domes with lanterns. Both the pavilions and the connecting promenade are formed by open arcades decorated by ornamental plant and figural embellishment.
A wooden building in the Swiss Style was finished in 1993 as a replica of the original Market Colonnade by architects Fellner and Helmer from 1883.
The original one was built as a makeshift in place of the old Carlsbad town hall from 1520.
The Spring of Charles IV springs in The Market Colonnade under a metal relief with motive of the Spring Discovery.
Charles IV, the founder of the town, healed his injuries in the local spring called Glutton (Žrout, or Fresser) and thank heavens the healing was successful.
The remnants of the spring pool are still evident in the Colonnade underground.
The Secession Style Castle Colonnade fills the space between The Castle Tower (Zámecká věž) and The Market Colonnade. Today it is an undistinguished complex of buildings formed by the Upper Castle Spring Pavilion, by adjacent premise of the older colonnade and by the Secession Style building by Fridrich Ohman from 1911 - 1913, which was originally built as a site around The Lower Castle Spring.
In thirties, a Spring Spirit relief made from brownstone was added to the Colonnade. The buildings forming the Colonnade show all the signs of disrepair. Both steel and concrete elements of the construction served out, because of insufficient maintenance, composition of the buildings and very aggressive environment.
At present, the intensive preparation for reconstruction (by Zámecká kolonáda a. s.) is on its way.
From 1879 to 1939, the visitors could have admired a cast-iron colonnade built according to design by architects Fellner and Helmer. Sculptures of Hygia and D. Becher by A. Fernkorn were added to the building.
In 1935, the Colonnade was replaced by so-called first wooden makeshift; from 1947 to 1969, a "temporary" wooden colonnade according to design by architect Kozák stood in the area of The Hot Spring.
The present-day colonnade building by professor Votruba was constructed in the years 1969 - 1975.